Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Jerusalem 2017
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Jerusalem

Theme : Reconciliation – The Love of Christ compels us (cf. 2 Corinthians 5:14-20)

This biblical text emphasizes that reconciliation is a gift from God, intended for the entire

creation. As a result of God’s action, the person who has been reconciled in Christ is called

in turn to proclaim this reconciliation in word and deed. Churches need the gift of God’s

reconciliation as a wellspring of life. But above all, they need it for their common witness to

the world: “that they all may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I in you. May they

also be in us that the world may believe that you have sent me” (John 17:21).” The world

needs ministers of reconciliation, who will break down barriers, build bridges, make peace.

PROGRAMME

Saturday, Jan. 21 Anastasis (Holy Sepulchre), Calvary 5.30 p.m.

Greek Orthodox Office of “Apodeipnon”(Compline)

Sunday, Jan. 22 Anglican Cathedral of St George 5.00 p.m.

Nablus Road

Monday, Jan. 23 Armenian Cathedral of St James 5.00 p.m.

Old City, Armenian Quarter

Tuesday, Jan. 24 Lutheran Church of the Redeemer 5.00 p.m.

Old City, near Holy Sepulchre

Wednesday, Jan. 25 St Saviour’s Latin Parish Church 5.00 p.m.

Old City, near New Gate

Thursday, Jan. 26 Upper Room, Cenacle 4.00 p.m.

Mount Zion

Friday, Jan. 27 St Anthony’s Church, Coptic Orthodox 5.00 p.m.

Old City, near Holy Sepulchre

Saturday, Jan. 28 Ethiopian Orthodox Church 5.00 p.m.

West Jerusalem, off Prophets’ Street

Sunday, Jan. 29 Greek Catholic Church of Annunciation 5.00 p.m.

Old City, near Jaffa Gate

N.B. – Sunday 15 January, at 3:30 p.m., Fr. Frans Bouwen, w.f., will give a lecture on

“L’actualité oecuménique en 2016” (in French), at the Ecumenical Institute of

Tantur.

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Jerusalem 2018
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Jerusalem

Theme: Your right hand, O Lord, glorious in power” (Exodus 15:6)

Today Caribbean Christians of many traditions see the hand of God active in the ending of enslavement. It is a uniting experience of the saving action of God that brings freedom. For this reason the song of Moses and Miriam (Ex 15:1-21) was chosen as the motif of the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity 2018. It is a song of triumph over oppression that unites. However, contemporary challenges again threaten to enslave and threaten again the dignity of the human person created in the image and likeness of God. Exodus 15 allows to see how the road to unity often passes through communal experience of suffering. Although liberation/salvation is an initiative taken by God, God engages human persons in the realisation of his purpose and plan for the redemption of his people. Christians, through baptism share in God’s ministry of reconciliation, but our own division hamper our witness and mission to the world in need of God’s healing.

PROGRAMME

Saturday, January 20, 2018:
Anastasis (Holy Sepulchre), Calvary
17:30 Greek Orthodox Office of “Apodeipnon”(Compline)

Sunday, January 21, 2018:
Anglican Cathedral of St George Nablus Road
17:00 Service

Monday, January 22, 2018:
Armenian Cathedral of St James Old City, Armenian Quarter
17:00 Service

Tuesday, January 23, 2018:
Lutheran Church of the Redeemer Old City, near the Holy Sepulchre
17:00 Service

Wednesday, January 24, 2018:
Latin Patriarchate’ s Church, Old City, Jaffa Gate
17:00 Service

Thursday, January 25, 2018:
Upper Room, Cenacle Mount Zion
16:00 Service

Friday, January 26, 2018:
St Mark’s Church, Syrian Orthodox Old City, near Jaffa Gate
17:00 Service

Saturday, January 27, 2018:
Ethiopian Orthodox Church, off Prophets’ Street
17:00 Service

Sunday, January 28, 2018:
Greek Catholic Church of Annunciation Old City, near Jaffa Gate
17:00 Service

N.B. – Sunday, January 14, 2018, at 15:00 Fr. Frans Bouwen, w.f., will give a lecture on “L’actualité œcuménique en 2017” (in French), at the Ecumenical Institute of Tantur.